JobisJob search

find usa jobs online find international jobs online

Hotspot 2.0 inches its way into public Wi-Fi networks

on March 10, 2014

Gigaom

A curious thing happened to me on the way back from Mobile World Congress in Barcelona last week. When I stepped out of the plane at O’Hare Airport in Chicago, my phone automatically connected to the terminal’s Wi-Fi network.

That may not sound like an earth-shattering event, but I should note that I have never accessed that network before with my phone, so it had no saved profile. I also had no special ISP connection software on my device that would let me automatically authenticate to the access point. I didn’t need to select a network from a list, nor did I have to enter a password or interact with my phone in any way. The signal strength bars on my iPhone 5(s aapl) just changed into Wi-Fi’s familiar radiating fan, and I had a secure connection online.

Chicago O'Hare Airport sign

My phone made its first Hotspot 2.0 connection courtesy of Boingo(s wifi)…

View original post 534 more words

Leave a Reply

