JobisJob search

find usa jobs online find international jobs online

Career Coaching

on March 18, 2014

Gingerbread's campaign blog

“Do you not want to be anything?” my daughter inquired as we were walking – no, me half walking half running; her half running, half flying – up the last hill to the school. “Or you just want to be a mum?”

Interesting positioning of the career vs stay-at-home debate where whatever the criticism, the one I thought I was not going to be subject to was ‘being just a mum’, having started working when she was six weeks old and done little else since. She seems to think motherhood as my full-time occupation, and that work is purely instrumental, not an identity. (Why would anyone think so?)

“I’m not just a mum, I’m a…” I hesitated at ‘management consultant’. Let’s not mock my daughter’s intelligence. “I work.” (How am I ever going to credibly convince anyone whose hands my career is in of the importance of my job, when…

View original post 386 more words

Leave a Reply

